This is the end for Google+

Google began Tuesday to delete the content of its social network Google+, after announcing its closure a few months ago. The platform was created in 2011.

The creation of new accounts was interrupted in February, but the content continued to be created by fans of the social network.

“On April 2nd, your Google+ account and all the Google+ pages you’ve created will be closed and we’ll start erasing the contents of individual accounts,” the company said in January.

The removal of all content should take a few months, according to Google.

The California giant made the decision to close its social network, considered a failure by observers, after the discovery of a security breach that affected nearly 500,000 users between 2015 and March 2018. Google disclosed the existence of this fault in October 2018.

In the following December, another vulnerability in Google+ was discovered, potentially affecting 52.5 million accounts.

According to Forbes, in 2015, Google+ had no less than 2.2 billion users, but less than 1% of them were active. In addition, 90% of the connections on the site lasted less than 5 seconds, according to data from Google in October 2018.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *